BMW F800 Forum banner

F800GS - Replacing the grips

15K views 16 replies 11 participants last post by  jrwooden 
#1 ·
The rubber part of my F800GS grips is very worn out, and I would like to replace them.
I've never done this before on any of my bikes and I don't know if its even possible to only replace the rubber part, or if I have to replace the whole grip (including whatever's under the rubber)
So I'm looking for advise here. You guys got any instructions, or video on how to do this? Also, do you have any suggestions on what grips to buy?

Thanks

#2 ·
Morning aristosv;

Does your bike have heated grips?

If no heated grips then a very easy replacement, if the bike has heated grips then it can still be done but is a delicate operation as the rubber grips are glued tight to the grip heating grid.

So start by telling us if the bike has heated grips.

#4 ·
I did it by using a very sharp knife and cutting through the rubber flange and then slicing the grip itself without going through it. Once done I could tear the rest of the grip with my hands. One of my grips would not heat. It turned out to be the wire lost connection with elements in heater. I just soldered back together.

#7 ·
My 2009 bike was the same with the flat foil heated grips,they must have been made out of a really soft rubber as mine were trashed and the bike was quite low mileage. I cut through the flange and carfully peeled back the grips holding tension as i cut with a stanley knife blade. There was not much glue as the grips were held mostly by the plastic moulded ridges. I put Arriette grips with the larger internal diameter for heated elements back on and only used cheap hairspray to put them on. They have set rock solid and would not cause a problem if i have to do the job again. Having said that the replacement grips seem a lot more durable.

#10 ·
#13 ·