BMW F800 Forum banner

Deceleration brake light

2K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  rcb78 
#1 ·
#6 ·
I've been using the skene light kit for about 3 years and have had no lamp alert issues. I mounted the LED light bars across the bottom of my license plate intending to bring braking attention to following drivers, especially when I'm loaded with gear. When the rear rack is loaded with bags and camping gear, the tail light gets kinda buried under there. I don't use the deceleration mode though, simply because I don't want to confuse the issue for other riders or drivers. If my lights are on, I'm braking for some reason. I'm really happy with how they work and how bright they are.

#9 ·
This will sound crazy and totally wrong. But you might find it interesting, and if nothing more, you might also get a laugh out of it. I would not want one.

Here's what I experienced when I was commuting up and down the Seattle I-5 corridor. The first year I was doing my commute, I would use engine braking, but I'd also try to give some warning to the person following me by lightly touching the brake. I noticed a couple things. Drivers still tailgated me. It was like they realized they would get some warning if I slowed down, and so they took advantage of that. I also noticed my brake pads wore down to nothing in about 15,000 miles instead of the 30,000 miles that was normal for that bike.

After about a year and that first set of brake pads, I did something by accident and noticed a change. I had been following the advice in the Advanced Motorcycle Safety Course to keep 3-4 seconds following distance. Engine compression braking is very easy like that. (BTW, this is all riding in the HOV lane.) But for some reason, I didn't use my brake lever to activate the brake light. The person behind me had dropped back to about a 4-6 second following distance. I liked that! :)