Engine cut out + oil on plugs - BMW F800 Riders Forum & Registry

Remove this advertisement by REGISTERING.

3 Days Ago
    I'm new to the F800 world, having bought my first (a F800s) just 4 months ago. I had done just over 500 miles before i had quite a major issue.

I'd driven maybe 1 mile to go get fuel before a big trip I had planned the following day. Dropping down from 3rd to 2nd as I released the clutch the engine cut out, the rear wheel locked and I skidded. I then pulled the clutch in and it rolled before i stopped the bike. I restarted the engine on the first click and continued. It had shocked me a fair bit and i figured I should ride it around a while and see if the problem repeated itself especially with a long journey planned the following day. The bike was feeling and sounding quite odd and exactly the same thing happened again. Dropping from 3rd to 2nd, the engine cut out and rear wheel locked. I was going slightly quicker this time and had quite a large skid before pulling the clutch in again so it rolled somewhere i could stop. Again it started on the button fine, albeit with a bit of a clunk this time.

I read of similar instances of this happening to people on this forum (new to the forum so can't post links - but the thread is titled Engine cut out and rear wheel lock). https://f800riders.org/forum/showthr...ear-wheel-lock Most of the fix suggestions are that it's caused by the engine running to lean and that a software renew would fix it. However, i have a friend with a BMW diagnostic kit to check the ECU. There was no electrical/software fault showing and nothing to indicate that it had been the similar bike running to lean issue others have described. Instead i presumed a mechanical fault, especially because the engine now sounds strange to me. I have posted a video of the engine sound on youtube, again I can't post links on here but the video is titled ' BMW F800S - Strange Engine Sound ' and i posted it today (15/09/20).