New Vancouver Canada F800GS Owner Checking In - BMW F800 Riders Forum & Registry

Remove this advertisement by REGISTERING.

2 Days Ago
    Hi All,

I'm new to the BMW world, but joining a few forums, and looking to meet new riding buddies and learn more about my new bike. I've just bought a 2017 F800GS, which I hope is in good shape. I was on a 2017 Suzuki V-Strom 650 previously. That was a great bike, but I wanted something of similar size and weight with more off-road capability, primarily in the suspension and ground clearance areas. Still, I gave up a supremely reliable bike, with a 5 year warranty; no moving parts and you can fix it with a hammer. Am I an idiot to buy a Bimmer?

So far, the BMW is clearly put together with higher quality parts; fasteners and panels are just better. Other components are similarly higher spec. But we'll see how things settle out.

I'm 62 (and not happy about it), I gave up work, and have no regrets about that. I have the BMW and a 2018 Vespa GTS 300. I like to cook, and drink wine, and I'm a bit of a hi fi geek- my stereo cost way more than the bike. We love travel and have a house in Italy, and go there as often as we can. Originally from California, I've been in Canada since 1971. My background is half Italian, half Dutch-English, so a bit of a mongrel overall.

I am the nicest, kindest, smartest, best-looking, most modest guy I know. Still I'd love to meet the riders and I will admit that I need all the help I can get. Seriously, I'm scared and thrilled with the F8GS. So, all assistance and guidance and help will be gratefully received. Even after April 1st.

Cheers all.

2. Likes Richard230, TheMeteor, IanA, Runmyownlife liked this post
  3. Remove Advertisements
    F800Riders.org
    Advertisements

Real Name
    Lyle
    23 Hours Ago
    Motorcycle
    '15 F700GS