F800GS TPMS modification - BMW F800 Riders Forum & Registry



Remove this advertisement by REGISTERING.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Points: 734, Level: 14

    Real Name
    Classified
    Location
    Charles Town, WV
    Joined
    Sep 2020
    Online
    2 Days Ago
    Posts
    22 / 0 / 0 / 0
    Motorcycle
    '16 F800GS
    Motorcycle
    '16 F800 GT
    I am planning on converting my GS to tubeless tires with installed Tire Pressure Monitoring System and remember finding a thread about the GS having the radio equipped but not turned on.

    I want to know if anyone has turned on their OBC to the TPMS radio and configured there GS to read the sensors. (To confirm there is one already onboard).

    Can it be configured with the MotoScan to pair up with the TPMS sensors or do you need to go to BMW to do it?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    F800Riders.org
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    FraggyFred's Avatar
    Points: 18,478, Level: 93

    Real Name
    Fred 2 L
    Location
    France
    Joined
    Oct 2012
    Online
    3 Days Ago
    Posts
    555 / 2 / 67 / 147
    Motorcycle
    '14 F800GS ADV
    Motorcycle
    '13 F800 GT
    Hi
    As far as I can tell, it's not possible

    I installed something like that :
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005...archweb201603_
    and it works perfectly

    I recommend !
    Fred de Montpel'
    F 800 GS Adventure
    http://fredetisabelle.free.fr
     

  4. #3
    Points: 734, Level: 14

    Real Name
    Classified
    Location
    Charles Town, WV
    Joined
    Sep 2020
    Online
    2 Days Ago
    Posts
    22 / 0 / 0 / 0
    Motorcycle
    '16 F800GS
    Motorcycle
    '16 F800 GT
    UPDATE: I have discovered converting the K72 F800GS to use the BMW RDC TPMS is possible and quite easy (in theory so far).

    Parts needed are:

    65757720818 RDC (eBay Used $70)
    65757707271 Holder ( $10)
    07147119858 Screw ($3)
    36318532731 Sensor (going Ebay for aftermarket source $30)
    EL-50448 TPMS Relearn Tool (Ebay $9)

    I tested the the RDC from my 2016 F800GT p/n 65757720818 plugged into the 2016 F800GS with the RDC activated via MotoScan and it registered the pressure from the GT parked next to it with he rear sensor activated.

    I know the valve stems are different sizes for the tubed rims so I thinking of getting VMX tubeless rims and doing a full conversion instead of drilling out the valve stem hole.

    More to come....

  5. Remove Advertisements
    F800Riders.org
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Points: 734, Level: 14

    Real Name
    Classified
    Location
    Charles Town, WV
    Joined
    Sep 2020
    Online
    2 Days Ago
    Posts
    22 / 0 / 0 / 0
    Motorcycle
    '16 F800GS
    Motorcycle
    '16 F800 GT
    Just recieved the sensors and the wake up tool. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	1.71 MB 
ID:	373113

  7. Likes FraggyFred liked this post
  8. #5
    Points: 3,203, Level: 37

    Location
    Bay Area, Ca
    Joined
    May 2018
    Online
    6 Hours Ago
    Posts
    334 / 0 / 0 / 0
    Motorcycle
    '20 F900XR
    Did it actually display pressures on the bike display or just on the Motoscan real time values?

  9. #6
    Points: 734, Level: 14

    Real Name
    Classified
    Location
    Charles Town, WV
    Joined
    Sep 2020
    Online
    2 Days Ago
    Posts
    22 / 0 / 0 / 0
    Motorcycle
    '16 F800GS
    Motorcycle
    '16 F800 GT
    When I plugged in the RDC to the GS and used the motoscan to activated RDC it did show value/pressure on the the display.

  10. Likes FraggyFred liked this post

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •